Sheriff’s Communications Division

Communications Division

This division of the Sheriff’s Office is responsible for answering and dispatching all emergency phone lines in the County. This includes 17 Fire Departments, 11 Emergency Medical Services, 3 Police Departments, and the SUNY University Police. Additionally, Communications serves as an after-hour on-call center for several agencies. Dispatchers must go through eight weeks of training which encompasses significant training on the New York State Police Information Network terminal (NYSPIN). NYSPIN is the primary communications and dissemination link between all law enforcement agencies in the state. In the frequent chaos of accidents, natural disasters, and a broad range of other varied situations, these offices are truly the lifeline of the county to its residents. The 24-hour non-emergency phone number is 518-295-8114. Please call 911 for emergencies only.